Current Students      Faculty & Staff Support      Degree Programs      Evening School      


News and Events



LSU CCELL Announces 2012 Happy Award Recipients



LSU's Center for Community Engagement, Learning, and Leadership has awarded 10 LSU faculty, students and community partners with the second annual CCELL Happy Awards for excellence in service-learning.


The Happy was initiated to commemorate former CCELL Director Jan Shoemaker's 10 years of distinguished service, commitment to education and service for the common good.


Of the ten recipients, four are faculty from the College of Human Sciences and Education.  They are:  Alma Dawson, Russell B. Long Professor in the School of Library & Information Sciences; Lisa Johnson, Assistant Professor in the School of Kinesiology; Younghee Lim, Associate Professor in the School of Social Work; and Yejun Wu, Assistant Professor in the School of Library & Information Sciences.


Additional recipients were:  Highland Elementary School, community partner; Betsy Irvine, Executive Director of Louisiana Delta Service Corps; Sandy Joslyn, graduate student in public administration and American Red Cross volunteer; Mary Hannah Prevot, senior majoring in art; and John Scalzo, Instructor in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science.


For more information, visit