Current Students      Faculty & Staff Support      Degree Programs      Evening School      


Save the Date

First Annual College of Human Sciences & Education Awards Banquet

Thursday, May 9, 2013

6:00 pm

LSU Union Royal Cotillion Ballroom





College of Human Sciences & Education Alumni Distinction Awards:  


Joe Dean (B.S. Health & Physical Education ’55) earned all-SEC honors as a scholarship basketball player for three years before being drafted by the New York Knicks in the first round. After serving in the U.S. Army for two years, he completed has degree and had an outstanding career with the Converse Rubber Company and as Athletic Director at LSU.  A member of the LSU Sports Hall of Fame, the LSU Alumni Hall of Distinction, the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame, the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame, and the NABC College Basketball of Fame, he has been instrumental in advancing the mission of the School of Kinesiology.


Mary Jane "Janie" Spaht Gill (U-High ’62, B.S. Elementary Education ‘66, M.Ed. Reading ’80 and Ph.D. in Curriculum & Instruction ‘91) is a nationally recognized teacher who has published a 54-book reading series for children at the 1st and 2nd grade reading level.  Three of her books have been purchased by Hollywood for cartoon animation. This Louisiana Teacher of the Year recently published six books with ARO Publishing for preschool children based upon the exploits of monkeys at the zoo, titled “Monkey Tales.” Today she is widely known as “JJ,” The LPB personality in Storytelling with JJ and Friends.


College of Human Sciences & Education Philanthropists of the Year:


Harman and Renae Chandler will receive the College’s Philanthropist of the Year Award for their critical funding support of faculty programs and research. As a result of their investment in the Coastal Roots Program and the funding for an outreach vehicle, a visible symbol that the stewardship of our natural resources is a worthy value to teach, participation has expanded from 24 to 40 schools in 18 parishes. Harman is a retired businessman in the forestry industry. Renae (B.S. Elementary Education ’72, M.Ed. Elementary Education ’78 +30) is a certified teacher of gifted education and a recipient of the Outstanding Louisiana Project Learning Tree Educator Award.


College of Human Sciences & Education Award for Distinguished Service on Behalf of the College:


The Award for Distinguished Service on Behalf of the College will be presented to Brett Furr. Brett graduated from U-High (’79), LSU (B.S. ’83) and the LSU Law School (JD ‘86), and went to work for Taylor, Porter, Brooks, & Phillips where he is a partner. He served on the University Laboratory School Foundation Board from 1999-2002. In 2005, he and Richard Lipsey co-chaired the capital campaign to expand the school, raising more than $6.5 million. Because of the success of the campaign, the school has added a new elementary building; renovated the auditorium, gymnasium, choir room, and band hall; and completed construction on a new, state-of-the-art gymnasium.


The faculty and staff awards recipients are as follows:

  • Alma Dawson, professor in the School of Library and Information Science, Advocate for Diversity Award

  • Kenneth Fasching-Varner, assistant professor in the School of Education, Early Career Award

  • Petra Munro Hendry, professor in the School of Education, Distinguished Faculty Research Award

  • Krisanna Machtmes, associate professor in the School of Human Resource Education & Workforce Development, Distinguished Faculty Teaching Award

  • Pamela Blanchard, associate professor in the School of Education, Partnership Award

  • Andrew Folks, manager for the Office of Educational Technology Services, Award for Outstanding Service by Faculty or Staff

Tickets Prices:

Faculty, Staff & Students- $25

Alumni & Friends- $40